A Felony Drug Charge in Charlotte is Serious Business

Charlotte, and North Carolina in general, have some of the toughest drug laws in the country. Even a misdemeanor could land you in jail—leading to a chain of events like losing your job, your license, and more. But a felony drug charge can get you in even more hot water. 
 
In Charlotte, North Carolina, you may get a felony drug charge depending on the type and quantity of drugs and circumstances. Your criminal record plays a part and if you're caught dealing drugs, you may be looking at federal charges too. And don't think that just because it's marijuana, the state will be easier on you.
 
A charge for first-time possession of drugs such as heroin, ecstasy, and cocaine is an automatic felony in North Carolina. A second-time possession is a felony offense for all other drugs except Schedule V and Schedule VI drugs. These other drugs include:

  • Xanax, Valium, Ritalin, Adderall, Vicodin, and Percocet
  • Codeine and hydrocodone
  • Ketamine
  • Other schedule I-IV drugs

A felony drug conviction means harsher penalties and larger fines than a misdemeanor. For marijuana possession, they can charge you with a felony if you have more than 1.5 ounces or it is your third related charge. If paraphernalia is involved, or there is evidence of manufacturing or intent to distribute, you are in deep water.
 
Take a look at the drug trafficking laws in North Carolina and you'll quickly see why you need a seasoned drug attorney on your side.

Drug Trafficking in North Carolina

Per North Carolina G.S. 90-95 (h) and (i), a person commits a drug trafficking offense when he or she

  • Knowingly
  • Either
    • manufactures, sells, delivers, transports, or possesses, or
    • conspires to manufacture, sell, deliver, transport, or possess a controlled substance
  • The quantity of the controlled substance is, at a minimum, either
    • In excess of 10 pounds of marijuana;
    • 1,000 dosage units of methaqualone;
    • 28 grams of cocaine;
    • 28 grams of methamphetamine;
    • 28 grams of amphetamine;
    • 4 grams of opium or heroin;
    • 100 units of LSD;
    • 100 units or 499 grams of MDA/MDMA;
    • 28 grams of MDPV;
    • 28 grams of Mephedrone; or
    • In excess of 50 dosage units of synthetic cannabinoids

Punishment for Drug Trafficking in North Carolina

In North Carolina, the penalties for drug charges vary depending on the specific charges, the amount of drugs in your possession, the type of drugs, and your criminal history. They do not punish drug trafficking under the North Carolina Structured Sentencing Guidelines. If they convict you of drug trafficking, they will sentence you according to this chart.

If convicted of felony drug charges involving trafficking in North Carolina, you are facing a minimum of about 2 years in jail and a maximum of about 10 years. The more drugs involved, the worse it gets.

You don't have to let a drug trafficking or drug possession charge destroy your life when a criminal defense attorney is on your side—contact the Law Offices of Jason H. Reece in Charlotte, North Carolina, and we'll get to work.