Since 1995, our Charlotte Traffic Tickets Defense Lawyer has been focused on helping people fight traffic tickets in Mecklenburg County. We can help you with:
When you get a traffic ticket in North Carolina, you may be tempted to simply pay the fine and be done with it. Before you take this step, make certain you understand the consequences of your actions. Call a Charlotte Traffic Tickets Defense Lawyer first.
Just paying off your ticket means that you are pleading guilty, and you open yourself up to other penalties associated with the violation. These penalties could include driver's license suspension. That suspension could be a matter of months or it could be a year long. There could also be insurance consequences. In some cases, your insurance could increase 400 percent and not decrease for years. You do not want these consequences to catch you by surprise.
At the Law Office of Jason H. Reece, our Charlotte Traffic Tickets Defense Lawyer can not only help you understand the consequences, he can help you minimize them or avoid them completely. Contact our North Carolina law firm to learn more about fighting traffic violation charges.
Limited driving privileges (LDPs) are alternatives to having your license revoked or suspended under motor vehicle law. If you are convicted of a serious traffic violation in Charlotte, North Carolina, you may still be able to drive, but your chances of pulling this off often require the services of a good traffic attorney.
Here is a rundown of some of the most common traffic violations and LDPs that an experienced law office can help you maneuver. Most of these relate to DWI, but a suspension or revocation can happen in other extreme circumstances as well.
1. Interlock Limited Driving Privilege
This type of LDP involves having an ignition interlock device for a period of one year. The LDP can be approved for drivers who are convicted of DWI with a blood-alcohol level of .15 or more. There is a 45 day waiting period after the conviction. You'll need an experienced traffic ticket attorney and a little bit of luck for this one.
2. Willful Refusal Limited Driving Privilege
Refusing to take a breathalyzer test in North Carolina means you will have a suspended license. After a waiting period of 6 months after the suspension, you can request this LDP, and it will remain in effect for one year.
3. Standard Impaired Driving Limited Driving Privilege
This LDP can be approved shortly after a conviction. The standard provisions are approval to drive from 6:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Hours outside that range can be approved in certain circumstances.
4. Pre-trial Limited Driving Privilege
Just like its title implies, this LDP can be approved before you even go to court. Remember, if you are charged with DWI, you will lose your license immediately. If you qualify, this LDP allows you to drive up to a month after being charged, typically from 6:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Monday through Friday. If you can show a legitimate need for extended hours, those may be approved as well.
If you get a traffic ticket in Charlotte, North Carolina, from a speeding ticket to a DWI, the Law Offices of Jason Reece can help. We're too modest to say that we are the best traffic attorneys in Charlotte, but our clients aren't!
Our representation is available to residents of the Charlotte area, as well as people who were charged while visiting the area. We offer reasonable fees. Payment plans are available and credit cards are accepted. Contact our Charlotte law firm for a free initial consultation with a Charlotte Traffic Tickets Defense Lawyer.