Charged with Speeding and Reckless Driving in Charlotte?

Many drivers, at one time or another, have broken the speed limit. There are signs on nearly every road in North Carolina displaying the speed limit, but speeding tickets still remain one of the most common citations in the state.

A minor speeding ticket may seem to be not much more than a manageable fine. More serious speeding charges like reckless driving can make things a little more complicated and more expensive. But get charged with speeding and reckless driving and things can spiral out of control.


North Carolina Reckless Driving Law

In North Carolina, reckless driving as a result of speeding depends on the speed limit of the area where you're driving. Generally, driving 15 miles over the speed limit is considered reckless driving.

The threshold for determining the reckless driving factor decreases as the speed limit increases. For example, driving 5 miles over the speed limit in a 70 mph zone can get you ticketed for reckless driving. Speeding in excess of 75 miles per hour can get your license suspended immediately, even for first time offenders.

Under North Carolina’s reckless driving law, reckless driving could be defined as any driving activity that displays “willful or wanton disregard” for the safety of others. It also states that moving at a speed that could endanger others could constitute reckless driving.

Here are some examples of driving behavior that contributes to reckless driving charges:

  • Tailgating

  • Racing

  • Running a red light or a stop sign

  • Failing to yield

  • Speeding

A driver who is charged for one of the above violations may not be ticketed for reckless driving necessarily. But there is a lot of gray area that could get you in hot water faster than you thought.

There are no defined miles-per-hour over the limit that would automatically result in a reckless driving charge—so your charges are often at a law enforcement officer’s discretion.


Consequences for Speeding and Reckless Driving

As you've already seen, reckless driving is not a simple traffic violation. The charge alone is considered a criminal charge as a class 2 misdemeanor. A conviction could mean a fine of up to $1,000 and spending up to 60 days in jail.

A reckless driving conviction also affects your driving record. A speeding and reckless driving conviction could mean four or more points on your driver's license. And you can expect your auto insurance to increase—sometimes even doubling.

If a reckless driving incident results in an accident that causes property damage, serious injury, or death, the consequences can be life changing.

Now that you know how serious, and complicated, a speeding and reckless driving charge can be, you can appreciate how a seasoned traffic attorney can help minimize the damage. You don't have to let a North Carolina speeding and reckless driving ticket ruin your life—contact the Law Offices of Jason H. Reece in Charlotte, North Carolina, for the best defense.