A Hit-and-Run Conviction in North Carolina Can Ruin Your Life

A Hit-and-Run Conviction in North Carolina Can Ruin Your Life

Hit-and-run charges are brought against someone when they don't stop at the scene of an accident they are involved in. The duty to stop statute in North Carolina states that a driver involved in an accident must contact law enforcement and stay at the scene of the accident until they arrive.

At the scene, any driver involved is required to provide assistance to other drivers, passengers, pedestrians, and anyone else involved—regardless of perceived fault.

Whether the accident involves others or only property damage, the driver involved must provide their name, contact number, and insurance company information. Failure to do these things could mean hit-and-run charges and a misdemeanor or even a felony conviction.

Misdemeanor and Felony Hit-and-Run Charges in North Carolina

The punishment for a misdemeanor hit-and-run conviction in North Carolina depends on a range of factors. If an accident results in property damage and/or minimal injury to another individual only, you will be charged with misdemeanor hit-and-run. Most misdemeanor hit-and-run charges are a Class 1 misdemeanor, which carries a maximum penalty of 120 days in jail or performing community service or similar punishments.

If you flee the scene of an accident and there are injuries to others, you can be charged with felony hit-and-run. The penalties for these felony charges are severe. A felony hit-and-run charge is classified as a Class H Felony, which carries a punishment of up to 25 months in jail, plus fines, and other punishments. A felony hit-and-run charge requires representation from a criminal defense attorney when you go to court.

Defending a Hit-and-Run Charge in North Carolina

A successful defense can increase your chances of getting the hit-and-run charges dropped or reduced. The following defenses against hit-and-run charges are just some of the defenses your attorney can use:

  • You have been mistakenly identified

  • You were not driving the vehicle at the time of the hit-and-run crash

  • You were not aware of the collision

  • You left the scene temporarily intending to return

  • You have been falsely accused

An experienced criminal defense attorney can help you minimize the impact of a hit-and-run charge. Call The Law Offices of Jason H. Reece in Charlotte at 704-714-8888 or fill out this contact form for a free consultation.