Charged with Larceny in North Carolina?

Being charged with larceny in North Carolina should not be taken lightly. The charge can result in a misdemeanor or felony conviction with severe penalties and a criminal record for life. The long-term consequences can be as serious as the punishment because it affects your ability to get a job, a house or apartment, or a loan.


North Carolina Larceny Charges Can Mean a Felony Conviction


In North Carolina, most theft crimes are considered larceny, and offenses can range from “petty” theft to felony larceny. It's always wise to work with a criminal defense attorney if you've been charged with misdemeanor or felony larceny charges.


Common larceny crimes include:


  • Misdemeanor larceny

A misdemeanor larceny is the theft of a person’s property without their consent and with the intent to permanently deprive them of the property. The value of the property must be $1,000 or less, and when the value of the property is in question, the jury determines the value.


  • Felony larceny

Felony larceny is like misdemeanor larceny, but the property taken has a value of over $1,000 or the theft meets other specific requirements, such as robbery of a person, burglary, or the theft of a firearm.


  • Misdemeanor possession of stolen goods

This crime is the possession of stolen goods when the accused knew or reasonably knew that the goods were stolen and the purpose is dishonesty. The value of the property must be under $1,000 to remain a misdemeanor.


  • Felony possession of stolen goods

The distinction between a misdemeanor and felony possession charge is the same as larceny. Felony possession of stolen goods over $1,000 or a theft that meets the same requirements listed above means felony larceny.


When a person steals multiple items, the cumulative value of the stolen items can result in a felony larceny charge if the total value is worth more than $1,000.


Other common larceny crimes in North Carolina include:

  • Shoplifting
  • Stealing gasoline
  • Stealing motor and engine parts


What are the Penalties for a Larceny Conviction?


Under North Carolina law, certain larcenies are considered Class H felonies unless a statute specifically defines the crime as a misdemeanor. Here are some of the penalties for a larceny conviction:


  • Class 3 and Class 2 misdemeanors

A first offense shoplifting charge is typically a Class 3 misdemeanor. The maximum penalty is 30 days in jail and a $200 fine. A second offense of shoplifting within three years is a Class 2 misdemeanor with a maximum sentence of 60 days in jail and an $1,000 fine.


  • Class 1 misdemeanor

If a person is convicted of possession of stolen goods, it is classified as a Class 1 misdemeanor. The maximum penalty is 120 days in jail and a fine determined by the presiding judge.


Now that you see being charged with larceny in North Carolina may be more serious than you thought, don't risk going it alone. Let a seasoned larceny attorney defend you against unnecessary penalties and fines. If you or someone you know has been charged with larceny or felony larceny, let the Law Offices of Jason H. Reece guide you to the best possible outcome. Contact us today, and we'll get to work.