The day you got your reckless driving ticket probably began like any other day. You got in your car and focused all your attention on getting to your next destination on time. In your haste, maybe you swerved or changed lanes too quickly. Whatever the reason, before you could think twice, a police officer pulled you over and charged you with reckless driving.
Getting a reckless driving ticket can shake any driver's confidence and shouldn't be taken lightly. A reckless driving charge comes with a host of possible penalties that can impact your life -- that means fines, points on your license, license suspension, and even a criminal charge that could result in jail time. But you're not alone.
You need an experienced Charlotte traffic attorney in your corner to defend your rights. Jason Reece can work on your behalf to get you the best results possible for your case. If you're like most, you probably have a ton of questions about your situation. We've taken the time to answer a few of them here.
The hard facts
As with any type of traffic ticket, your reckless driving ticket could mean increased points and higher insurance. A reckless driving citation also carries significantly more weight than a speeding ticket. For example:
- North Carolina law states that reckless driving can result in a 60-day jail sentence or a $1,000 fine.
- Reckless driving constitutes a class-2 misdemeanor.
- If you're convicted of reckless driving, you will have 4 points placed on your license.
- You may have your license suspended for up to 12 months. At the end of your license suspension, there are fees associated with reinstating your license.
- If you are convicted of speeding and reckless driving, things can escalate quickly.
How does the law define reckless driving?
Reckless driving in North Carolina describes a number of different driving mistakes. A driver could have swerved or driven in a manner that demonstrated a "wanton disregard" for other drivers. Or maybe he or she simply drove too far over the posted speed limit. Breaking the speed limit can become a reckless driving charge under the following circumstances:
- You must have driven 15 miles per hour over the speed limit on a road where the posted speed limit is less than 55.
- If the speed limit is over 55, you can be charged with reckless driving for exceeding the speed limit by anything over 10 miles per hour above the speed limit.
How can I fight this?
In order to avoid a criminal conviction, you will need to have an attorney represent you. The sooner you get an attorney's help, the sooner he or she can start to build a case in your favor. Most importantly, don't panic. Take a deep breath. You have access to reliable help. Talking to traffic attorney Jason Reece brings you one step closer to getting the best possible outcome on your court date. Get in contact with Jason today using this form, or call 704.714.8888 to set up a free consultation.