Run and You're Done: North Carolina Speeding Law Means Business

Because so many people have so much access to media these days, many laws are promoted with catchy titles like "Booze It and Lose It" or "Click It or Ticket," and North Carolina is no exception. The  "Run and You’re Done" law has a pretty memorable and catchy title that also gets right to the point. In 2010, North Carolina passed the law to create severe penalties for drivers who try to outrun the police. Under this law, it is a crime to speed in an attempt to elude or prevent law enforcement from doing their job. Speeding to elude arrest got a serious makeover with N.C. Gen. Stat. Section 20-141.5. The law enacts some severe consequences for this dangerous crime. In North Carolina, you are required by law to stop if a law enforcement officer orders you to do so. It's that simple. So you don't even need to be speeding, as the name of the law implies, to be charged with breaking the "Run and You're Done" law. Speeding to elude arrest is a danger to everyone involved and innocent bystanders as well, and if you tack on speeding and reckless driving charges, you're in deep. Here is how it all breaks down: Misdemeanor Speeding to Elude Arrest Speeding to elude arrest, with no aggravating factors, is a Class 1 Misdemeanor. The consequences of a conviction could include:

  • 120 days in jail
  • A criminal fine
  • The suspension of your driver's license for up to one year

Felony Speeding to Elude Arrest Speeding to elude arrest is a Class H Felony if at least two of the following aggravating factors are involved:

  • Speeding more than 15 MPH over the speed limit
  • Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs
  • Reckless driving
  • Negligent causing property damage or personal injury
  • Driving when your license has been revoked
  • Speeding through a school zone or DOT work zone
  • Passing a stopped school bus
  • Driving with a passenger under the age of 12

If you are convicted of felony speeding to elude arrest you could spend up to 39 months in prison, pay significant criminal fines, and most likely lose your driver's license for up to three years. And the state also has the right to seize your vehicle to auction it off and keep the proceeds! Speeding to Elude Arrest Resulting in Death The severity of the consequences resulting from the "Run and You're Done" law are meant to keep you, law enforcement, and everyone else safe. If you try to evade police and your actions cause the death of someone, the consequences become rightfully compounded. Misdemeanor charges escalate to a Class H Felony, and Felony charges increase to a Class E Felony. Those are some serious charges that should make anyone think twice before deciding to run. If you ever make the mistake of trying to evade law enforcement, you are going to need a good lawyer. The Jason Reece Law Firm is knowledgeable and experienced in defending drivers with charges from a simple traffic violation to more serious charges like DWI and evading the police. We're here when you need us by phone, email, or in our offices.