No matter which side of the issue you fall on, you likely know the attitude towards marijuana, and the subsequent laws, have softened across the U.S. The use of recreational pot hasn’t precisely ignited as a result of softer drug laws. But it’s still a popular pastime regardless of the legality. While it could be personal experience, the spreading decriminalization of marijuana, or the advancements in medical use, almost 90% of Americans think it should be legal.
This increasingly popular line of thinking is why 41 states have legalized or decriminalized cannabis. About a quarter of these states enacted reduced penalties or decriminalized cannabis and CBD. Another quarter of the 41 states and the District of Columbia have legalized pot altogether. The relaxed attitude towards cannabis has led most states in the U.S. to legalize some form of cannabis. But not North Carolina.
When Does a Joint Cost You $200 in North Carolina?
Believe it or not, if you live in Charlotte, North Carolina, a single joint could cost you $200. Not because pot is scarce or it’s some desirable blend—simply because you had one! That’s right, if you get caught with a half ounce or less of marijuana—like a joint—the penalty is only $200. No jail, no parole, not even community service. That’s the good news.
The bad news is drug charge attorneys in Charlotte stay busy because North Carolina’s latest stance on marijuana and decriminalization doesn’t trickle up. Sure, there are a few limited medical marijuana laws on the books, but even if you qualified, you would still have to buy your weed out of state! That’s because it’s still illegal to purchase marijuana in North Carolina in any form.
This is The Part Where You Need a Charlotte Drug Charge Attorney
The possession, sale, and growing of marijuana are still illegal pretty much illegal across the board. New laws and classifications aren’t going to really matter if you get caught with a half-ounce or more of pot. For example, a half to an ounce-and-a-half could cost you $1,000 AND 45 days in jail.
Possession of more than that, but less than 10 pounds, raises the ante to a felony charge—and penalties up to $1,000 and eight months in jail! More than 10 pounds, and you could be charged with trafficking (you definitely want a drug charge attorney in Charlotte for this one). Another felony here, but this one has much more bite—up to 39 months and $5,000. We could go on, but you get the point.
In North Carolina, decriminalization doesn’t mean legal, and any marijuana possession could have harsher consequences than you knew. If you get busted with a couple of joints, pay the $200 and count it as a life experience. If you are charged with a more severe marijuana crime, let the Jason Reece drug charge attorneys in Charlotte, North Carolina, run point.
As complicated and rigid as marijuana laws are in North Carolina, don’t you want a drug charge attorney on your side? Call The Law Offices of Jason H. Reece in Charlotte, NC, at 704-714-8888 or fill out this contact form for a free consultation.