Traffic Tickets in Charlotte Aren't as Harmless as They Seem

Traffic tickets in Charlotte, North Carolina, can run the gambit from old, obscure driving laws to modern, and still vague, traffic laws. Even with Mecklenburg County's lighter approach to traffic stops, numerous traffic violations can still land you in hot water. No matter the severity of your traffic ticket, an experienced traffic attorney can help minimize the damage.

Common Low-Level North Carolina Traffic Tickets

We guess you could call these traffic violations run-of-the-mill driving offenses because they rarely amount to much in court or regarding your license. BUT. It's best to remember that even a seemingly minor violation could tip the scales and add points to your license, which could lead to much higher insurance premiums. Here are the most common North Carolina traffic violations we see most often in Charlotte:

  • Not having a valid registration

  • Running a stop sign

  • Not wearing a seatbelt

  • Making an illegal U-turn

  • Speeding in a work zone

  • Following too closely

Since most of these traffic violations can usually be handled quickly by a Charlotte traffic attorney, it's hardly worth the risk. If you're convicted of one of the driving infractions above and then get a more serious traffic charge, things could escalate quickly. 

Charlotte Traffic Tickets That Can Land You in Hot Water

We hope if you ever get a speeding ticket or are charged with reckless driving, your driving record will be relatively clean. Whether your record has no points or too many points, your best chance of beating a traffic ticket in North Carolina is by teaming up with a local Charlotte traffic lawyer. 


In North Carolina, the term speeding means traveling at a speed that exceeds what a reasonably prudent person would travel. Vague at best, but it is the law! To make things much more straightforward, North Carolina enforces “absolute” speed limit laws, which means you could get a speeding ticket for going one mile over the posted speed limit. Depending on the charges, a speeding ticket could cost you between $100 and $1,000, up to 60 days in jail, and even a driver's license suspension. 

Reckless driving 

You could be charged with reckless driving for “Driving carelessly or heedlessly in a willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others.” About as vague as the description for speeding, but again, it's a traffic law. For example, if you are found guilty of driving at least 15 mph over a posted speed limit of less than 55 mph, you could be facing reckless driving charges. If convicted, you would have a Class 2 misdemeanor on your record, spend up to 60 days in jail, pay up to a $1,000 fine, and get four points on your driving record.

Driving without a license

The points you get on your license for speeding, reckless driving, and other traffic infractions can add up quickly. When they add up, you could end up having your North Carolina license suspended or revoked, which can put a damper on your lifestyle and a pinch on your wallet. If convicted of driving without a license in North Carolina, you could go to jail for up to 120 days, pay $1,000, and end up with a Class 2 Misdemeanor. Adding insult to injury, your driver’s license could be suspended for even longer or permanently!  

If you want to stay out of hot water and keep your license and bank account safe, the Law Office of Jason H. Reece can help. Our years of Charlotte traffic ticket experience and local relationships ensure you get the defense you deserve. Get in touch online or call 704-714-8888 today, and we'll get a seasoned traffic ticket attorney on the defense for you.