The basic speeding laws in North Carolina are pretty straightforward. If you are driving within the city limits of an incorporated municipality, the speed limit is 35 miles per hour (MPH) unless otherwise posted. The speed limit on North Carolina roads outside incorporated municipalities is 55 MPH unless otherwise posted. The state has highways some highways with a statutory speed limit of 70 MPH on certain sections. You'll even find speed limits of 45 and 25 in specific areas, but these limits are not mandated by North Carolina laws.
Pretty simple speeding laws, right? Maybe. When you get pulled over for speeding, it's important to know that not all North Carolina speeding charges are the same. Speeding in North Carolina and getting your run-of-the-mill speeding ticket can usually be handled easily by a speeding ticket attorney without too much damage.
But when you get charged for exceeding the posted speed limit by more than 15 MPH, the charges and the impact on your license and insurance can be dramatic. From a suspended license to more expensive car insurance, the risk is pretty high, and an experienced speeding ticket lawyer is essential.
If you’re going above 55 and exceeding the speed limit by 15 MPH, you could be facing a 30-day license suspension—if it's your first offense. North Carolina also has other suspension-worthy speeding laws on the books, too. If you're driving over 80 MPH, regardless of the speed limit, you could have your license suspended.
If you get convicted of speeding to any degree twice in a 12-month window, you could lose your license for 60 days! A driver can also have their license suspended if they are speeding by at least 10 mph in a zone that is 70 MPH. But wait, there's more!
Speeding in Another State Will Affect Your North Carolina Driver's License
Suspensions are even more likely because most states actively share speeding citations handed out to North Carolina drivers when they're out of state. At least 46 states are members of the Driver License Compact, which enables them to exchange information regarding traffic violations easily. If you get caught speeding in another state, the chances of North Carolina not finding out is slim—and the consequences are the same as if you were charged in your home state.
If you get pulled for speeding in North Carolina or any other state, it's important you know what to do to minimize the damage. While it may seem like just paying your ticket online is the easiest way out, think again. Especially with speeding charges that can lead to a license suspension, you may not know the extent of the damage until the case is closed. You can request a hearing to dispute a speeding charge, but it will cost you $100, and there's no guarantee you'll be any better off.
From those hard-to-navigate speeding laws to DWIs and criminal charges, the Law Office of Jason Reece can help. We have the experience and the local relationships to ensure a fair and just process and minimal damage to your wallet or your license. Get in touch with us today and let us show you how we do it.